How On Earth Do You Pronounce THAT?!

Names are the weirdest things, aren’t they?

I mean, it’s like, “So, I’m going to call you this jumble of weird sounds for the rest of your life.”

But what’s worse is when they are ‘odd’ names. And even worse than that, is when you have no idea how to pronounce them. And, if it’s in a book, you have no one to correct you when you mess up badly every single time.

For example, for NaNo, in one of the stories I’m writing (my Teen Wolf fic) my main character (well, one of them – my other main character is Peter Hale who is one of Teen Wolf’s, and I’m really getting off track, sorry) is called Quinn Saharé Flax. 

“What on earth is that middle name?!” I hear you ask. In answer: I don’t know, I just added the accent on the e to make it sound like I wanted it to. My friend is called Quinn and it is one of my favourite names, so don’t you dare put that one down…

I remember before I moved house, I had never heard the name ‘Amelia’ – when I moved down and heard it, I thought it was one of the weirdest names ever. Not gonna lie.

And then you get names like ‘Hannah’ (my name, so clearly the best!) that are palindromes – they read the same back to front. Or acronym names, like my friends – his spells ‘JET’ when his initials are stuck together.

I love names, and I love choosing them. It’s so special.

How do you choose your character’s names? Is it a chore, or a joy? Or do you just pick a random name and hope that it works (that’s always a good way, I guess…)?

Cheerio,

– Hannah 

One thought on “How On Earth Do You Pronounce THAT?!

Leave a Reply

